Goodbye

Early in the morning, before anyone was awake, I rolled over to see a little blue light, a message on my phone.  It must have come in the middle of the night, while I slept soundly, not hearing the familiar ping.  My lids still heavy, I rubbed my eyes and read the message.  It was from him. J had messaged me in the night.  Within a moment I felt the tears well up in my eyes, a single blink and they spilled onto my cheeks,  quickly followed by others.  Hot tears streaked my face as I lay there completely silent.  It wasn’t that he wanted me back, just a couple of short sentences to let me know that it meant something and he misses me.  I got my goodbye.

In some ways it makes the hurt feel fresh again, after all it’s been three weeks since he ended things, but in another way, I feel at peace.  We will likely never talk again, but I know that he still thinks of me and that makes all the difference.

3 thoughts on “Goodbye

    1. I think what I needed to know was that I was in some way important to him and I got that. It was obvious this would have to end at some point, neither of us was interested in leaving our spouses. So, I think this was a pretty good ending. I can look back and happily, memories aren’t tainted by the ending.
      Thank you for the offer to listen, it’s very sweet. Same goes for you, even if you aren’t ready to talk about Mr. Grey 🙂

      Liked by 4 people

  1. It is so good to have that closure. It is awful not knowing, thinking that what you had with someone meant nothing to them and they were just using you. I felt the same way with Sierra, and it still hurts that we didn’t have much real closure between the two of us. Now you can move on to better things!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

