Old and New

My last post was about writing more, yet it’s been almost two weeks since then! So, I think that I’ll make this an update of sorts…

P said that he was over his guilt and we made plans to get together.  P cancelled those plans the day before.  He had a good explanation, but hasn’t made any attempt to reschedule.  I really don’t get what is going on with that man… It’s not like I’m the one doing all the initiating, lately it’s all been him. But he never seems to follow through. So I’ve decided to leave it alone. I’ve accepted that he doesn’t want to hook up with me, regardless of what he says. It’s not going to happen and I’m fine with that. We’ve become pretty good friends and I’d like to keep the friendship, so I don’t plan on cutting him out of my life, but as of now he is just a friend, nothing more.  That is in sharp contrast to the way things are with J…

It turns out I was wrong about J pulling away, it seems he really was just busy.  Lately I get the feeling that he and I are both on the same page, in fact we’ve been talking about how much we want to meet… I’m not sure if that is going to happen, but I know that he wants it as much as I do. I’m really quite happy with the way things are with him right now.  I don’t know where things will go with us, or how it will end, I just know that right now I want him in my life and it seems he feels the same way.

I had an old friend visit, Lisa’s off living a rather exciting life at the moment, fabulous job, not really tied down to anything, dating, and living in Europe.  I can’t say that I wasn’t a little bit envious as she talked about her life!  I decided to confide in her about my open marriage. It was something that I had been thinking about, but didn’t decide until that very moment. I was pretty sure that she would be understanding and she was. In fact, she was more than understanding, she was relieved!  You see, she was worried that I had settled down and become boring. We met while studying abroad and life was pretty exciting, ten years later she saw me and worried that all the dreams I’d had were lost to being a housewife.  I guess she was just glad to see that I hadn’t become a Stepford wife.  It was nice to get to talk to someone about my marriage and the way things worked, especially as she was so supportive. She also convinced me that I need to consider younger men…

So, with her words ringing in my head I decided to post a personal ad.  First time I’ve ever done something like that and I must say the response was rather overwhelming.  I’ve had a lot of replies, but not a lot of interesting replies… Still I have a bunch of people I want to respond to, so there is hope yet.  Tomorrow I’m having coffee with a younger guy (he’s in his early twenties, I’m in my thirties).  I’m not sure if the age difference will be too much for me, but I guess we’ll see!

 

3 thoughts on “Old and New

  1. Best of luck – I am going to keep looking in and see how this works out. I haven’t taken the plunge with younger men (though my husband is all for it) I am okay with watching others go first.

    Cheers
    Pyx

    Like

Leave a Reply

